Henderson plays in All-Star game


Reprinted from the Rapid City Journal Story by Padraic Duffy.
Wyoming defeated South Dakota 81-76 in the All-Star game on Friday at the Young Center.If you’re a fan of a grind-it-out, defensive brand of basketball you may want to stay away from the South Dakota-Wyoming High School All-Star basketball games at the Donald E. Young Center in Spearfish.
If you like a wide-open, run-and-gun style, make sure you get a ticket.
“You could play with an NBA 24-second shot clock and I don’t think you’d be in any danger of it going off,” South Dakota head coach Mike Purcell of Rapid City Central said. “It should be pretty fun time.”
The boys’ game, the 20th annual edition of the contest, will take place at approximately 7:30 p.m., after the 19th annual girls game at 5:30 p.m. The teams will then travel to Gillette’s Campbell County High School North Campus on Saturday night for the Wyoming leg of the event.
“It’s tough to really have any kind of continuity offense or get up and play really good team defense in an all-star game,” South Dakota girls’ head coach Donavan DeBoer of Rapid City Stevens said. “We’re definitely going to try to get out and run and get shots up and try to make it an exciting game. That’s what the fans want to see and how the kids want to play.”
The Wyoming All-Stars swept the event last year as the Cowboy State boys evened the all-time series at 20-20 and the girls took a 25-12 all-time lead in the event.
“The only thing I know is that I’ve seen (the Wyoming) team a few times and they’re always pretty good,” DeBoer said. “They always seem to get their best players to show up for this event.”
The South Dakota girls team will have some of the best players in the state suiting up this year as University of South Dakota recruits Margaret McCloud (Rapid City Stevens) and Heidi Hoff (Brandon Valley) are both on the roster. Hoff, who won both the Gatorade and Miss Basketball awards for the state, will be joined by two other East River standouts in Sioux Falls Roosevelt’s Sydney Rome and Wagner’s Devon Brecke. Rome is signed to play college basketball at Augustana College next season while Brecke will be headed to Northern State.
Three other all-state players who will be playing Division I basketball next season and were originally slated to take part for the South Dakota squad will be unable to play due to prior engagements or injuries. Watertown’s Tia Hemiller (USD) and Yankton’s Chloe Cornemann (South Dakota State) dropped out due to prior engagements and St. Thomas More’s Caitlin Duffy (Colorado State) will be unable to play because of a broken toe.
“I’m really excited that Heidi, Devon and Sydney are coming to play,” DeBoer said. “It’s going to be fun to have some kids that I’ve watched and coached against on our team. It’s just nice to be able to represent South Dakota.”
The Wyoming girls will be led by three players from the Class 4A state champion Laramie, including point guard Kyleigh Hiser, who is committed to the University of Northern Colorado, and two players from Class 4A runner-up Natrona County.
The Wyoming boys will be led by 6-foot-5 University of Wyoming recruit Jason McManamen, the state’s player of the year who led Torrington to the Class 3A state championship. John SoundingSides, 5-foot-8 guard who led Wyoming Indian to a Class 2A state championship, will also be on the team. SoundingSides scored 65 points and hit 17 3-point baskets in a game this season.
“Wyoming has a lot of kids on their team that are long and lanky and versatile,” Purcell said. “I just know that from the roster that they’ve got that not only are they athletic, but they can really shoot the 3. We’re going to have to figure out our defensive rotations based on how good their posts are.”
South Dakota will suit up Mr. Basketball Skye Warwick of St. Thomas More and two of his teammates Eric Hensch and K.J. Rech – from the Class A state champions. Mitchell’s Tate Martin is the only East River player on the roster for South Dakota. Rapid City Central’s Rob Connot and Cody Harris are both also playing along with Douglas’ Mack Vinson and Faith teammates Jade Keffeler and Kolbi Selby.
The other girls on the South Dakota roster are Dupree’s Calli Henderson, who was the most valuable player at the Northern Hills All-Star game, Hill City’s Kendra McLaughlin, Spearfish’s Britain Burditt, Wall’s Krysta Kjerstad and Rapid City Stevens’ Katie Klapprodt.

Be the first to like.



Most recent regular Eagle Butte City Council Meeting on April 9, 2014. Recording records entire meeting excluding a one-hour executive session. Top action taken: approved Tuesday's Ward II election results; rescinded February council action reducing Mayor salary, putting it back to what it was prior to action; appointed Verzella LaPlante Mayor; appointed Tyson LaPlante to fill Ward II seat. Most recent Dupree City Council meeting held on Monday, April 7, 2014. Most recent regular Dupree City Council Meeting held on March 3, 2014. Recording starts shortly after meeting was called to order and runs entire length of meeting. Main discussion points included city streets and the upcoming April election.


Market Cheyenne River

Wondering how to get your organization or business's message to the Cheyenne River community? Let your hometown newspaper help.