Moreau Grand presents service awards at annual meeting 


Moreau-Grand Electric held their 64rd annual meeting in Isabel South Dakota on Friday, October 12, 2012.  The meeting was held at the Isabel Community Center with 106 members going through the registration line. The evening began with the Isabel American Legion Auxiliary serving a delicious barbecued beef supper to members and guests.   Following the meal Evy Johnson of Firesteel started the evening with a beautiful rendition of our National Anthem.  Board Chairman Rod Schad called the meeting to order at 7:00 pm.

Reports were heard from Board Secretary-Treasurer Beverly Birkeland, Board President Rod Schad, Manager Melissa Maher, and Basin Electric Power Cooperative Senior Legislative Representative Steve Tomac.  Members listened to the various presenters discuss the Connections Card program, scholarships, demand response program, recap of system restoration efforts made since the storms of 2010, FEMA reimbursement, and future rate increases. Steve Tomac of Basin Electric Power Cooperative provided a Basin update including the increasing energy demand the Bakken oil field is causing Basin Electric.

Service awards were presented to:

Kent Larson – Line Superintendent – 20 years

Cap Pearman –Journeyman Lineman – 25 years

Lois Bartlett – Director – 5 years

Barb Begeman – Director – 10 years

Royce Walker – Director – 20 years

Vender supplied door prizes were given throughout the evening with the big winners as follows:

$50 prize winners were – Darlene Pfaff, Paula Hinkley, Alice Enright, John Beer, Shirley Finkbeiner, Ester Goldade

Star Quilt – Lou Lindskov

Konor Lindskov of Isabel won the kids prize of the Mp3 player and money for guessing the closest to the amount of money in the jar.

Following the annual meeting, the board held a reorganization meeting for the purpose of electing officers. Those selected were Rod Schad – President, Charles Clark – Vice-president and Beverly Birkeland -Secretary-Treasurer.

Moreau-Grand appreciates the community of Isabel for their kindness and hospitality

Be the first to like.



Most recent regular Eagle Butte City Council Meeting on April 9, 2014. Recording records entire meeting excluding a one-hour executive session. Top action taken: approved Tuesday's Ward II election results; rescinded February council action reducing Mayor salary, putting it back to what it was prior to action; appointed Verzella LaPlante Mayor; appointed Tyson LaPlante to fill Ward II seat. Most recent Dupree City Council meeting held on Monday, April 7, 2014. Most recent regular Dupree City Council Meeting held on March 3, 2014. Recording starts shortly after meeting was called to order and runs entire length of meeting. Main discussion points included city streets and the upcoming April election.


Market Cheyenne River

Wondering how to get your organization or business's message to the Cheyenne River community? Let your hometown newspaper help.